RadioDiscussions.com

 
RadioDiscussions.com Discussion Boards
Login May 19, 2013, 05:46:18 PM *
Username Password Session Length
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email? Did you forget your password?
:  
   Home   Help Search Contact Us Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Woody Nelson Scam?  (Read 14201 times)
Sheriff Andy
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 42


Woody Nelson Scam?
« on: July 01, 2011, 05:33:07 PM »

I was forwarded this link earlier today. 
Looks like that "Woody Nelson" character from SW Georgia (WSBX?) was nailed in Huntsville for a benefit concert that apparently was a big scam.  Furthermore, it appears that he was caught doing the same sort of scam out in California a few years ago when he using "Jack Hammer" as his ID (real name appears to be Steven Blood).
Looks like he's still in SW Georgia, but for some reason has an Internet site that claims to be "broadcasting" from some bar down in Key West.  For what it's worth it sounds like a completely programmed mess.  And with no commercials or subscription I imagine it's more like an afterschool hobby since there's no revenue stream.  I'm wondering if he makes his living pulling these sorts of scams on a regular basis?  Anyone else out there ever deal with this great humanitarian?
Here's the link with the story from WAFF-TV: 
http://www.waff.com/story/14993159/investigation-underway-for-canceled-tornado-benefit-concert?clienttype=printable
Logged
Witchlover
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 418


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2011, 12:09:32 PM »

 Shocked
Sheriff Andy ... this might get interesting.
Logged

WitchloverŽ
Bengalsfan
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 1660


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2011, 06:09:48 PM »

I have been wondering what the connection was to Doreen Blood.  Seems Woody is her son.  I'm guessing she bought the station for him to give him something to do in order to avoid something like this.
Logged
poledo
rimember

Online Online

Posts: 2332


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2011, 05:06:17 PM »

...  and the WSBX story keeps getting better.  Who's making notes?  There's definitely enough here to write a book... or a Lifetime Television Movie of the Week.

My guess on Doreen Blood has always been that she was listed as owner either to promote the station to advertisers as minority owned (women are still considered a minority even though they really are the ones who run all our lives  Roll Eyes )  If that's not it other possibilities are that it was in her name to hide it from the man so it couldn't be confiscated from Woody if he screwed up (perhaps he had already screwed up before they bought WSBX?).   or maybe she's just a nice momma that bought her son a radio station to play with but didn't trust him enough to put his name on the deed to the collateral (license).  That would suck, to have a momma that doesn't trust you.

Again, as with all posts related to WSBX.  I know nothing... I'm not involved.  I've never heard the OTA signal of this station.  This is pure speculation.
Logged
Witchlover
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 418


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2011, 06:30:15 PM »

So far as I understand, the BBB is looking into complaints lodged with them, and law enforcement is not involved.
Logged

WitchloverŽ
upstate29651
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 1317

Formerly...but always... "The Guru"


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2011, 03:43:18 PM »

Not THIS again!  Roll Eyes

G
Logged

Formerly...but always... "The Guru" (Still as old & crotchety as ever)
Witchlover
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 418


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2011, 04:39:09 PM »

That's probably what Woody said. <g>
Logged

WitchloverŽ
Sheriff Andy
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 42


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2011, 06:32:46 PM »

Does anyone know if this Georgia Triangle Broadcasting is an actual company?  Nothing supporting this business, as a company legally registered in Georgia, seems to exist.  Unless someone else's online sleuthing skills can find any supporting documentation we have to figure this "company" is another falsehood, probably acting as some sort of cover for any scams Blood is pulling.
Apparently, he's been posting (that's about all he does as his Internet site is nothing but pre-programmed garbage) about how he's been ripped off or extorted or blackmailed.  Boy, can this guy whine.  Sounds like the proverbial Momma's boy who can't get his way and then stamps his feet till he turns red in the face!
His last posts indicated that he would be posting a video response (once again, HIS posting without any supporting documentation or providing any answers that could clear some things up, I'd imagine) today.  Wait for it.....naturally, he's now saying that he can't post the video due to security concerns from Facebook.  He doesn't seem to have any problems posting videos on his Cowboy Bills page, so we have to presume that this "video response" is another lie.
He also said that he would be posting a hotline for people to call for updated info.  Another lie, I guess, as this is still not happening.
Judging by his aol address and the fact that his site is hosted by "Go Daddy", we're guessing that he doesn't have the money for a video camera.  And certainly no money to lease an "800" number for this imaginary hotline.
I've also read that he may be in some violation with regard to WSBX - does anyone understand that issue?
There's a lot of people this guy has wronged - hopefully he's getting his comeuppance soon.
Logged
level42
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 193


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2011, 09:31:59 AM »

WSBX doesn't exist.  Hasn't been on the air in several years. 
Logged

--
Chris Hall
Reel Audio Broadcast Engineering
702-825-0287 (office)
229-403-9795 (cell)
reelaudio@gmail.com
Witchlover
rimember

Offline Offline

Posts: 418


Re: Woody Nelson Scam?
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2011, 12:32:13 PM »

Just checked:

 http://licensing.fcc.gov/cgi-bin/ws.exe/prod/cdbs/pubacc/prod/sta_list.pl?Facility_id=37449

and found that the formal status of the station, as of 12/30/2010, is "LICENSED AND SILENT."  Checking the station's correspondence file, the last filing with the FCC was on October 1, 2009, informing the FCC that the station was resuming operations.  The license is issued to Doreen Blood and not to Georgia Triangle, if I read the FCC webber correctly - which I assume means that she is personally responsible to answer to the FCC for any problems which arise.  Surely there is a date certain where the license is  subject to be vacated if the station is not on the air.

The GA Secretary of State has a listing for the company:

http://corp.sos.state.ga.us/corp/soskb/Corp.asp?1480384

which is shown to be out of compliance; it has not filed it's annual registration since May 10, 2009 - more than two years ago.  I can find no filing for dissolution of the corporation, nor does it appear to be subject to administrative dissolution at this time. I also noted that Mrs. Blood is not listed as the registered agent of the corporation, nor does her name render any results when I search for her as an officer of the corporation. Bear in mind, though, that this website is run by a government agency in Georgia, which has had its share of budget woes, so it may or may not be up to date.

I think that your inference that the licensee is out of business is accurate but technically incorrect.

Logged

WitchloverŽ
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Postings on Radiodiscussions.com are the opinions of the people who post them. Views expressed do not necessarily represent the views of Radiodiscussions.com or its owner or operator. In fact many of the views expressed here are just plain wrong. But they are opinions and this site allows us all to discuss those opinions. Any reliance on information posted is done so at the user's own risk. For a detailed look at the rules, regulations and uses of Radiodiscussions.com please see our TERMS OF SERVICE.

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.388 seconds with 19 queries.